After a year-long gap, elections for the 12 posts of transport committee in the TMC will be held today.
Around 15 applicants from varied parties are in the fray with the Shiv Sena-BJP getting the lion’s share of seats. While the Sena, which has seven seats is fielding nine candidates, the NCP has nominated four. MNS and RPI have one candidate each for the remaining five seats in the committee.
“The elections for the fresh transport committee were to be conducted last year but the process was delayed, following which a special committee headed by the commissioner was set up,” informed a civic official.