National Technology Day is celebrated every year on May 11 to mark Indian technological advancement. The day, May 11, was declared National Technology Day by the Indian Government in order to commemorate the history of India’s technological capability and expertise.

Here is all you need to know about the importance of National Technology Day:

Instituted in the year 1999, the day holds importance of its own as on this particular day India achieved a huge technological progressionIndia had also tested its first indigenous aircraft ‘Hansa-3’ on this dayAfter testing Hansa-3, India had performed successful test firing of the Trishul missile and had also executed three successful nuclear tests, carried out at Pokhran, in RajasthanOn May 11, 1998, India tested 5 nuclear powered bombs in Pokhran, Rajasthan, to exhibit its defence skills. This is regarded as one of the significant moments in Indian historyThe theme for this year’s Technology Day is ‘Technology enablers of Startup India’.

Things you should know about Pokhran II:

Pokhran-II was the sequence of five nuclear bomb test explosions conducted by India at the Indian Army’s Pokhran Test Range in May 1998It was the second Indian nuclear test; the first test, code-named Smiling Buddha, was conducted in May 1974Pokhran-II encompasses five successfully carried out detonationsOf these 5, the first detonation was a fusion bomb and the remaining four were fission bombsThese nuclear tests resulted in a variety of agreements against India by a number of major states, including Japan and the United StatesOn May 11, 1998, ‘Operation Shakti’ (Pokhran-II) was initiated with the detonation of one fusion and two fission bombsOn May 13, 1998, two additional fission devices were detonated and the Indian government led by Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee shortly convened a press conference to declare India a full-fledged nuclear stateMany names are credited to these tests; formerly, they were called Operation Shakti-98 (Power-98), and the five nuclear bombs were designated Shakti-I through Shakti-V.