Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and AIADMK general secratary J Jayalalithaa and DMK president M Karunanidhi on Thursday forged easy leads in the Tamil Nadu assembly elections, officials said.

Ms Jayalalithaa contested from Radhakrishnan Nagar constituency in Chennai while Karunanidhi, fighting for a record 13th time, led in Tiruvarur.

But actor-turned-politician Vijaykanth trailed, officials said.