SRH 57/1 after seven overs

Chinaman Tabraiz Shamsi will look to stop the run flow. He’s providing Warner plenty of width to manipulate the field and Warner’s happy with it. A back cut for a boundary and a couple of singles. Eight runs have come off Shamsi’s first.

After 6 overs, SRH: 49/1

Harshal Vikram Patel is on. Ouch! A four off a no ball and the free-hit ball goes for half-a-dozen. Warner clears his front foot and deposits that in the stands. Warner’s liking Patel pace, tries hard to cash in on the last powerplay over — manages to get 16 runs, the biggest over so far. At the end of powerplays SRH is going at 8.16 per over.

More pace — Varun Aaron into the attack.

Aaron continues the good work done by the others, gives away only 5 runs in that over. You sense something’s about to happen here. After five overs, SRH: 33/1

After four overs, SRH: 28/1

Warner’s looking to attack Richardson here, first one is pulled and the second is flat-batted over mid-on. Dhawan’s (11 off 11 balls)adventure is cut short, he given an easy catch to the bowler, who pouches that on his follow through. And that brings Kane Williamson to the crease. It’s Kane vs. Kane in the middle.

SRH: 21/0 after three overs

Parvez Razool’s into the attack — that’s interesting, considering the amount of swing on offer for the pacers. Dhawan, sensing an oppurtunity to get some easy runs in the poweplay overs, steps down and lofts it over Rasool’s head. Dhawan tries hard, but Rasool holds his own. Seven off this.

SRH: 14/0 after two overs

Another Australian — Shane Watson — is into the attack. Watto’s getting some swing in to the left-handers here, making it difficult for the two to middle the balls. And as I type that, Dhawan punches one straight back, for a boundary. Eight came off the second over.

Six runs off the first over

Kane Richardson will bowl the first over. The ball’s flying off Warner’s big bat here – but finds the fielders, so damage done. That’s tidy start by the South Australian.

There’s confirmation from the RCB camp: Gayle will not play today.

Virat Kohli wins the toss and RCB will bowl first. They’ve made four changes to their team. David Warner says he batted first if he had won the toss. And, this toss outcome means RCB will bowl first for the first time this season.

The rain’s stopped in Hyderabad. We should have the toss anytime now.

And it looks like Chris Gayle will be playing today, but we have to wait for the rain to subside first before we get to see the Gaylestorm.

Earlier in the day, Delhi Daredevils put in a superb performance to beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs. They’ve climbed to the second spot in the points table. In case you missed it, read our over-by-over coverage of the match.