20:56 hrs: SIX and a FOUR for Smith, and that’s fifty for him. His 15th in IPL. GL are 89/3 after 13 overs.

20:53 hrs: FOUR! Karthik shuffles and sweeps it handsomely over square leg.

20:52 hrs: SIX! Too short from Chahal and Smith whacks it over mid-wicket for this third maximum. GL are 72/3 after 12 overs.

20:49 hrs: Six runs off Abdulla’s third. GL are 64/3 after 11 overs.

20:46 hrs: Expensive over from Chahal. 16 runs off it. GL are 58/3 after 10 overs.

20:43 hrs: SIX! Fullish delivery from Chahal and Smith thumps it over wide long-on boundary for a maximum.

20:40 hrs: GL are 42/3 after 9 overs. It’s time for strategic time-out.

20:36 hrs: Decent over from Chahal. Five runs off it. GL are 38/3 after 7 overs.

20:33 hrs: Leggie Chahal now.

20:32 hrs: Single of the last ball for Karthik. GL are 33/3 after 7 overs.

20:31 hrs: SIX! Shortish delivery from Jordan, Smith gets into position early and pulls it hard over deep backward square leg boundary.

20:28 hrs: Just three runs off Watson’s second. GL are 23/3 after 6 overs.

20:25 hrs: Watson to continue.

20:25 hrs: Aaaarrrrr Ceeeee Beeeee, you beauty!

20:23 hrs: FOUR! Width on offer from Abdulla and Smith cuts it past backward point for his second boundary. GL are 20/3 after 4 overs.

20:22 hrs: FOUR! Touch start from Abdulla, Smith leans back and hits it well to deep square leg boundary.

20:20 hrs: GL are 10/3 in 4 overs.

20:19 hrs: Another BLOW! GL in all sorts of trouble now. Raina c Aravind b Watson 1(9).

20:16 hrs: Watson comes in as the first change.

20:14 hrs: Another brilliant over from Aravind. Just two off it. GL are 9/2 after 3 overs.

20:10 hrs: In walks Karthik at number 4. GL are 7/2 after 2 overs.

20:08 hrs: WICKET! RCB are on fire. Finch c Gayle b Abdulla 4(6).

20:06 hrs: OUT! McCullum c de Villiers b Abdulla 1(4).

20:05 hrs: Abdulla into the attack.

20:04 hrs: Single of the last ball for McCullum. Tidy start from Aravind. GL are 2/0 after first over.

20:02 hrs: Leg-bye, and it’s the first runs of the night for GL.

20:01 hrs: First ball. Back of a length delivery from Aravind. Finch tries to pull but misses.

19:59 hrs: It’s time for live action. Finch and McCullum make their way out in the middle. Aravind to start the proceedings for RCB.

19:57 hrs: The team that has finished second in the points table has gone on to win the IPL in each of the last five seasons. So you know who finished second this season!

19:55 hrs: BREAKING – Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Ashish Nehra to undergo knee surgery. He’ll be out of action for 3-6 months.

19:54 hrs: RCB are acting too bold too early!

19:42 hrs: The kind of form RCB batters are in (or Virat Kohli specifically), GL will have to score in excess of 210 to have them in a spot of bother.

19:33 hrs: Here are the playing XI of both teams:

RCB: Virat Kohli (c), Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Shane Watson, KL Rahul (wk), Sachin Baby, Stuart Binny, Chris Jordan, Iqbal Abdulla, Sreenath Aravind, Yuzvendra Chahal

GL: Aaron Finch, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Dwayne Smith, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Praveen Kumar, Eklavya Dwivedi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shadab Jakati

19:32 hrs: Both teams are unchanged.

19:30 hrs: RCB skipper Virat Kohli wins the toss and elects to bowl first.

19:27 hrs: GL might not tinker with their winning combination while RCB are most likely to go with Varun Aaron in place of Iqbal Abdulla.

19:26 hrs: Virat Kohli has scored 209 runs vs GL in two games this season.

19:25 hrs: Toss in five minutes!

19:14 hrs: He has been a magnificent performer for RCB this season!

19:11 hrs: Another STAT – RCB have hit 122 sixes this season, while GL have hit only 52.

19:08 hrs: STAT ATTACK – RCB skipper Virat Kohli needs 81 more runs to become the first batsmen to cross the mark of 1000 in a single IPL season.

19:04 hrs: The winner of this match will straightaway reach the finals. On the other hand, the team that loses this match will get one more opportunity to go into the finals. They’ll face the winner of the match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders on Friday at the Feroz Shah Kotla, and the winner of that match will be the other finalist.

19:02 hrs: A warm welcome to our live coverage of the first qualifier of the Indian Premier League season 9. Royal Challengers Bangalore take on Gujarat Lions at M Chinnaswamy Stadium tonight.