The ninth edition of the 2016 Indian Premier League (IPL), the cash-rich domestic Twenty20 (T20) league, is all set to get underway from Saturday, it is that moment of the years, when few of the greatest cricketing venues in India, gear up to host the ultimate and fierce showdown between two of the best teams in the entire tournament. As 10 different venues host the tournament this year, the usual venue in the form of Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) Stadium in Mohali, is all set to play host to the local team of Kings Xi Punjab (KXIP). Although, it has hardly or never hosted any final of of yet, it has hosted few of the most interesting matches in both sectors, along with a seating capacity of 45,000. IPL 2016 Schedule, Time Table, Fixture PDF Download
The ninth edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) will be played from April 9, 2016 to May 29, 2016. Both the opening match as well as the final will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The first match of the tournament will be played between defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) and new team Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS). This will be followed on April 10 by a match between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Delihi Daredevils (DD) at Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Then on April 11 Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) will take on new team Gujarat Lions (GL) at PCA Stadium in Mohali.

On April 12 Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will face off against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Thus, within the first four days of the tournament each and every team will have played their opening matches. Two of the teams that have been an integral part of IPL history, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) will not be a part of IPL 9 due to the repercussions of the 2013 spot-fixing scandal.

It will be interesting to see how the two teams go. Top four teams progress to the next round. The top two teams play each other and the winner of that match goes directly to the final. The losing team however will get another crack at making it to the final. They will face the winner between the team placed third and the team in fourth position in Qualifier 2. The winner of that match will face the winner of the Qualifier 1 in the final, which was played between the top two sides earlier.