President-elect Donald Trump met President Barack Obama at the White House after sweeping recently held elections in the United States.

The White House, located at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW in Washington, D.C., will be the official residence of the real estate developer after taking oath next year.

The house was designed by Irish-born architect James Hoban in the Neoclassical style and was constructed between 1792 and 1800 using Aquia Creek sandstone painted white.

John Adams was the first president to take residence in the building in 1800 but stayed there for a very short period. Then, Thomas Jefferson moved and got it expanded.

Later in 1814, during the War of 1812, the White House was set ablaze by British troops and was reconstructed because of weakening from the fire and subsequent exposure to the elements. Architect Benjamin Henry Latrobe and Hoban contributed then designed it and it was reconstructed between1815 until 1817.

Today the group of buildings housing the presidency is known as the White House Complex. It includes the central Executive Residence flanked by the East Wing and West Wing.