Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao (born 17 Feb 1954), better known and abbreviated as KCR,is the first and the current Chief Minister of the Indian state of Telangana.


Mr Chandrashekar Rao led the final agitation for Telangana statehood for 14 years and helped reach the statehood on June 2nd 2014. He is the president of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi, a regional party in India.


He is a Member of the Legislative Assembly (Telangana) from the Gajwel constituency of Siddipet in Telangana.


Previously, he served as the Member of the Legislative Assembly (Andhra Pradesh) from Siddipet and also as the Member of Parliament from Mahabubnagar, Karimnagar and Medak. He took oath as the first Chief Minister of the new state of Telangana on 2 June 2014.