Facebook Threatens To Delete Users’ Pics If They Don’t Install Moments app


Social media giant Facebook is pushing its users to download its private photo-sharing Moments app, users report.

The social network has begun sending out warnings that some photos will be deleted by July 7 if the app is not installed, Techcrunch reported, citing user reports.

The company’s latest move has managed to make Moments the number one app in the US App Store.

Facebook is using notifications to spread this message, and further details can also be viewed from the Synced album’s page on Facebook, the report added. Some users are also receiving an email.

Photo-syncing was an optional feature Facebook launched on iOS in 2012 which allowed users to automatically copy all their photos from their smartphone to a private album on Facebook. These photos are stored in an album called Synced (in the app) or Synced from Phone (on the desktop), the report noted.

Recently, Facebook served notice to the users saying, “Your conversations are moving to Messenger,” to push people to Messenger.

For now, users can skip the notice but soon might be asked to download the Messenger app.

119 total views, 1 views today