Bowing to pressure from people and political parties, chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao on Monday hinted that the government was considering creating Jangaon, Sircilla, Gadwal and Asifabad districts. With this, the number of new districts in Telangana is set to increase from 17 to 21, taking the total number to 31.
The government has decided to form a high-powered committee headed by Rajya Sabha member K Keshava Rao to look into all issues pertaining to demands for creating four more new districts.
The committee is expected to submit its report in three days. The chief minister also directed revenue officials to submit proposals on revenue divisions and mandals that would be part of four additional districts.
“Since public and administrative convenience was the sole idea behind the reorganization and creation of new districts, the government would not mind increasing the number of administrative units,” Chandrasekhar Rao said.
Local leaders and people from Jangaon, Sircilla and Gadwal have been enforcing bandhs and holding hunger strikes for the past two months demanding that their towns be made districts.
Congress MLA DK Aruna had on Saturday announced her resignation demanding district status for Gadwal. Initially, the government was in no mood to give in to pressure, but reportedly agreed to consider these demands after receiving reports from local TRS leaders and the intelligence department that the sentiment was strong for creation of new districts.
Interestingly, there is a demand from some quarters in Adilabad that the government shelve the proposal of creating Nirmal district contending that splitting of the district further would hamper its development. Asifabad MLA Koval Laxmi and other TRS leaders from Adilabad pitched for new district of Asifabad, for which the chief minister readily agreed.
Warangal is set to be compartmentalised into five districts, while four each are to be carved out of Karimnagar and Mahbubnagar, three each from Medak, Nalgonda, Ranga Reddy and Adilabad, two each from Nizamabad and Khammam and one from Hyderabad district. The CM discussed the reorganisation exercise with people’s representatives and TRS leaders from Karimnagar, Khammam, Warangal, Adilabad and Hyderabad on Monday. He said Kothagudem district would be named Bhadadri Kothagudem, though Vikarabad and Mahbubabad districts would retain their names. Renaming Sircilla district as Rajanna district is under consideration, Chandrasekhar Rao said.
Warangal rural district machinery would function from Warangal city. The CM also announced new revenue division for Station Ghanpur and elevation of Peddapalli to municipality from nagar panchayat.