Oommen Chandy however won in the Puthupally constituency with a margin of over 25,000 votes
Hours after trends indicated the CPM-led LDF coming to power in Kerala, Congress leader and Chief Minister Oommen Chandy said the debacle of the UDF was unexpected.
“We accept the verdict of the people. This setback was unexpected. During the electioneering and subsequent discussions, we got the feedback that the UDF would retain power. The verdict went against our expectation.The UDF and the Congress would discuss the outcome and make corrective steps,” he told reporters.
While Chandy himself won by a large margin of over 25,000 votes in Puthupally, his alliance was tottering with wins in just 46 constituencies at 1 pm. In the last election in 2011, the UDF had won 72 seats.
As exit polls had predicted, senior ministers of the Chandy government including K Babu, Shibu Baby John and K Mohanan have been defeated in their respective constituencies. The UDF’s big defeats have been recorded in districts like Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Thrissur and Alappuzha. They also could not make inroads into Left-dominated Malabar districts of Kannur and Kozhikode.