A flurry of activity marked the last day of filing nominations for Assembly polls in Kerala with a total of 1,647 candidates completing the formality in the 140 constituencies across the state on Friday.

Of this, 734 nominations were received on the last day alone. Scrutiny will take place today. Candidates can withdraw nominations until Monday. The voting takes place on May 16.

The district-wise data of nominations received is as follows: Kasaragod-60; Kannur-127; Wayanad-41; Kozhikode-168; Malappuram-204; Palakkad-128; Thrissur-135; Ernakulam-187; Idukki-61; Kottayam-104; Alappuzha-98; Pathanamthitta-55; Kollam-115; and Thiruvananthapuram-164.

Prominent persons who filed the papers on the last day include Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, ministers K Babu, Adoor Prakash, KC Joseph, VS Sivakumar, senior BJP leader O Rajagopal, and BDJS (Bharat Dharma Jana Sena, BJP ally) general secretary Subhash Vasu.

Most of the Left Democratic Front candidates had turned in with their papers two days earlier.

With the filing phase over, electioneering is expected to reach a high-decibel pitch over the next 15 days until poll-day eve.